Max Weber, Different Theories of Social Action - Sociology Guide

Loading...
(http://www.sociologyguide.com) Home (http://www.sociologyguide.com)

(http://www.sociologyguide.com/sitemap.php) Site Map (http://www.sociologyguide.com/sitemap.php)

(http://www.sociologyguide.com/references.php) References (http://www.sociologyguide.com/references.php)

(mailto:[email protected]) Feedback (http://www.sociologyguide.com/feedback.php)

× Search Web Sociologyguide.com

Online Test

(http://www.sociologyguide.com/)

(http://www.sociologyguide.com/ageing/index.php) Signup for G K Online test for 2 years | Anthropology

Ageing

(http://www.sociologyguide.com/anthropology/index.php) | Automation Society 1 lakh+ Questions (http://www.sociologyguide.com/automationsociety/index.php) | Basic Concepts (http://www.sociologyguide.com/basic-concepts/index.php) | Branches of Sociology

(https://www.civilserviceindia.com/signup/)

(http://www.sociologyguide.com/introduction-to-sociology/branches-of-sociology.php)

|

Census

of

India

(http://www.sociologyguide.com/census/index.php) | Civil Society (http://www.sociologyguide.com/civil-society/index.php) | (http://www.sociologyguide.com/contributions/index.php) Daily Quiz

Contributions

(http://www.sociologyguide.com/culture/index.php)

|

|

Culture

Dalit

Movement

General Knowledge practice (http://www.sociologyguide.com/dalit_movement/index.php) | Education (http://www.sociologyguide.com/education/index.php) Current Affairs Q & A in Quiz format

| Economy and Society (http://www.sociologyguide.com/economy-and-society/index.php) | Environment and Sociology (http://www.sociologyguide.com/environment/)

| (https://www.civilserviceindia.com/currentEthnicity (http://www.sociologyguide.com/ethnicity/index.php)

(http://www.sociologyguide.com/ethnomethodology/index.php) affairs/quiz.html)

Ethnomethodology

|

Folkways

And

|

Mores

(http://www.sociologyguide.com/folkways-and-mores/index.php) | Gender (http://www.sociologyguide.com/gender/index.php) |

Indian

Society

Search

(http://www.sociologyguide.com/indian-society/index.php)

|

Indian

Thinkers

Daily Current Affairs News (http://www.sociologyguide.com/indian-thinkers/index.php) | Individual and Society (http://www.sociologyguide.com/individualsociety/index.php) | Industrial and Urban Society (http://www.sociologyguide.com/industrial-and-urban-society/index.php) | Daily Current Affairs News

Introduction To Sociology (http://www.sociologyguide.com/introduction-to-sociology/index.php) | International Economy Get Instant news updates (http://www.sociologyguide.com/international-economy/index.php)

|

Leadership

(http://www.news.civilserviceindia.com/)

I Recommend An Introduction To Social Anthropology (https://www.amazon.in/Introduction-Social (https://www.amazon.in/IntroductionAnthropology-DMajumdar/dp/817198147X/ref=as_sl_pc_tf_mfw? &linkCode=wey&tag=sociohistry-21) Social-Anthropology-DSociological Thought D. N. Majumdar (Paperback) Majumdar/dp/817198147X/ref=as_sl_pc_tf_mfw? (https://www.amazon.in/Sociological-Thought-M(https://www.amazon.in/Introduction-Social-Anthropology-D (https://www.amazon.in/SociologicalMajumdar/dp/817198147X/ref=as_sl_pc_tf_mfw? Francis&linkCode=wey&tag=sociohistry-21) &linkCode=wey&tag=sociohistry-21) Abraham/dp/1556051042/ref=as_sl_pc_tf_mfw? &linkCode=wey&tag=sociohistry-21) INR 390.00 Thought-M-FrancisSociology (https://www.amazon.in/Sociology-PaulM. Francis Abraham, John H. Morgan (Paperba… Abraham/dp/1556051042/ref=as_sl_pc_tf_mfw? B-Horton/dp/0070304432/ref=as_sl_pc_tf_mfw? (https://www.amazon.in/Sociological-Thought-M-Francis (https://www.amazon.in/SociologyAbraham/dp/1556051042/ref=as_sl_pc_tf_mfw? &linkCode=wey&tag=sociohistry-21) &linkCode=wey&tag=sociohistry-21) &linkCode=wey&tag=sociohistry-21) Paul B. Horton, Chester L. Hunt (Hardcover - Ja… INR 490.00 (https://www.amazon.in/Sociology-Paul-BPaul-B1 2 3 > Horton/dp/0070304432/ref=as_sl_pc_tf_mfw? &linkCode=wey&tag=sociohistry-21) Horton/dp/0070304432/ref=as_sl_pc_tf_mfw?

(http://widgets.amazon.in//Amazon-MyINR 1,041.00 &linkCode=wey&tag=sociohistry-21) Favorites-Widget/) Privacy (https://www.amazon.in/gp/dra/info/ref=as_sl_pc_tf_mfw? &linkCode=wey&tag=sociohistry-21)

(https://www.amazon.in/ref=as_sl_pc_tf_mfw? &linkCode=wey&tag=sociohistry-21)

(http://www.sociologyguide.com/leadership/index.php) | Market as a social institution (http://www.sociologyguide.com/marketas-a-social-institution/index.php) | Marriage, Family and Kinship

(http://www.sociologyguide.com/marriage-family-

(https://twitter.com/sociologyguide1)

kinship/index.php) | Market as a social institution (http://www.sociologyguide.com/market-as-a-social-institution/index.php) | Free Notes

Migration (http://www.sociologyguide.com/migration/index.php) | Morality (http://www.sociologyguide.com/morality/index.php) |

Nation

Community

GS notes (http://www.sociologyguide.com/nation-community/index.php)

|

Neo

Positivism

(http://sociologyguide.blogspot.com/)

(https://www.civilserviceindia.com/subject/General(http://www.sociologyguide.com/neo-positivism/index.php) | Organization and Individual (http://www.sociologyguide.com/organization-and-individual/index.php) Studies/notes/) | People's Participation in Development (http://www.facebook.com/pages/Sociolo Anthropology notes (http://www.sociologyguide.com/people-particiation/index.php) | Personality Guide/100869009967057) (https://www.civilserviceindia.com/subject/Management/notes/) (http://www.sociologyguide.com/personality/index.php) | Phenomenology Sociology App Management notes (http://www.sociologyguide.com/phenomenology/index.php) | Political Modernization (http://www.sociologyguide.com/politicalAndroid (https://www.civilserviceindia.com/subject/Management/notes/) modernization/index.php) | Political Processes (http://www.sociologyguide.com/political-processes/index.php) | Political System (http://www.sociologyguide.com/political-system/index.php) | Post Modernism (http://www.sociologyguide.com/postmodernism/)

|

Post

Structuralism

(http://www.sociologyguide.com/post-structuralism/)

|

Poverty

Monthly E-magazine (http://www.sociologyguide.com/poverty/) | Public Opinion (http://www.sociologyguide.com/public-opinion/index.php) | Religion (http://www.sociologyguide.com/religion/index.php)

|

Research

(http://www.sociologyguide.com/research-methods&statistics/index.php)

Method And Current affairs Digest |

Statistics

Rural

Sociology

(http://www.sociologyguide.com/rural-sociology/index.php) (https://www.civilserviceindia.com/emagazine/) | Science, Technology and

Change

(http://www.sociologyguide.com/science/index.php) | Sexuality (http://www.sociologyguide.com/sexuality/index.php) | Social Action (http://www.sociologyguide.com/social-action/index.php) | Social Change (http://www.sociologyguide.com/socialchange/index.php) | Social Control (http://www.sociologyguide.com/social-control/index.php) | Social Demography (http://www.sociologyguide.com/social-demography/index.php)

|

(http://www.sociologyguide.com/sociology_of_fashion/index.php)

|

Sociology Social

(http://www.sociologyguide.com/socia_inequality_exclusion/index.php) (http://www.sociologyguide.com/social_justice/index.php)

|

Inequality

|

Social

Mobility

of

Fashion

and

Social

Exclusion Justice

(http://www.sociologyguide.com/social-

mobility/index.php) | Social Movements (http://www.sociologyguide.com/socialmovement/index.php) | Sociology News (http://www.sociologyguide.com/news.php) | Social Pathology (http://www.sociologyguide.com/social-pathology/index.php) | Social Problems (http://www.sociologyguide.com/social-problems/) | Social Structure (http://www.sociologyguide.com/socialstructure/index.php) | Sociology Questions (http://www.sociologyguide.com/questions/index.php) | Social Stratification (http://www.sociologyguide.com/social-stratification/index.php)

|

Social

Thinkers

(http://www.sociologyguide.com/thinkers/index.php) | Socio Short Notes (http://www.sociologyguide.com/socio-shortnotes/index.php) | Surveys and Reports (http://www.sociologyguide.com/surveys-and-reports/index.php) | Theoretical Perspectives

in

Sociology

(http://www.sociologyguide.com/theoretical-perspectives-in-sociology)

(http://www.sociologyguide.com/tribal-society/index.php)

|

Weaker

(http://www.sociologyguide.com/weaker-section-and-minorities/index.php)

Section |

Women

|

Tribal

and And

Society Minorities Society

(https://play.google.com/store/apps/details? id=com.sociologyguide.apps) | IOS (https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/sociologyguide/id1134477598) | Window (https://www.microsoft.com/enus/store/p/sociology-guide/9nblggh4rxfg)

(http://www.sociologyguide.com/women-and-society/index.php) | Feedback (http://www.sociologyguide.com/feedback.php) | References (http://www.sociologyguide.com/references.php) | PPT (http://www.sociologyguide.com/ppt) | Sociology Books (http://www.sociologyguide.com/books/) | Interest and Attitude (http://www.sociologyguide.com/interest-and-attitude/) | Sociology

of

Law

(http://www.sociologyguide.com/sociology-of-law/)

(http://www.sociologyguide.com/sociology-of-social-media/)

|

|

Sociology

Sociology

of of

Social

Media

Development

(http://www.sociologyguide.com/sociology-of-development/) | Social Relationship (../social-relationship/index.php) | Neo Functionalism (../neo-functionalism/index.php) | Neo-Marxism (../neo-marxism/index.php)

Home (http://www.sociologyguide.com/)

Home (http://www.sociologyguide.com) » Social Action (index.php) » Different Theories of Social Action (different-theories-of-socialaction.php)» Max Weber

Social Action (index.php)

Max Weber

Different Theories of Social Action (differenttheories-of-social-action.php)

Sociology according to Weber is not confined to study of social action alone. It studies certain

Max Weber (max-weber.php)

other factors as well. But the basic fact is that social action which according to Max Weber is

Talcott Parsons (talcott-parsons.php) Karl Mannheim (karl-mannheim.php)

that action is social in so far as by virtue of the subjective meaning attached to it by acting

Pareto (pareto.php)

individual it takes account of the behaviour of others and is thereby oriented in its course. Social action according to Weber possesses the following characteristics: Relationship with the action of others: No action shall be called a social action unless it has relationship with the present, past or future behaviour of others. Others are not necessarily known persons. They may be unknown individuals as well. Social action includes both failures to act and possess acquiescence may be oriented to the past, present or accepted further behaviour of others. Social action is not isolated: Social action in order to be really social has to be oriented to the behaviour of other animate things as well. Worship before an idol or worship in a lonely place is not a social action. It has to be oriented to the behaviour of animate beings as well. In every kind of action even overt action is social in the sense of the present discussions. Overt action is non social if it is oriented solely to the behaviour of the inanimate objects. Result of cooperation and struggle between individual and members of the society: Mere contact with human beings is not a social action. It should deal with the cooperation and struggle between various individuals. A crowd that may collect at a place does not necessarily indulge in the social action unless it starts behaving with one another. Social action is not identical with the similar action, actions of many persons or action influenced by others. Has a meaningful understanding with other, action or action of others: Mere contact with others or actions in relation to others are not a social action. Social action should have a meaningful understanding with the social action of others. In every type of contact of human beings has a social character. This is rather confined to cases where the actor's behaviour is meaningfully oriented to that of others. Weber argued that to explain an action we must interpret it in terms of it's subjectively intended meaning. A person's action is to be explained in terms of the consequences he or she intended purpose rather than in terms of its actual effects the two are often at variance. A subjectively intended meaning is also a causal explanation of the action, in that the end in view is a cause of present actions. For Weber it is important that action is defined in terms of meaningfulness and sociological analysis must proceed by identifying the meaning that actions have for actors.

© 2018 Sociology Guide.Com (http://www.sociologyguide.com)

Loading...

Max Weber, Different Theories of Social Action - Sociology Guide

(http://www.sociologyguide.com) Home (http://www.sociologyguide.com) (http://www.sociologyguide.com/sitemap.php) Site Map (http://www.sociologyguid...

343KB Sizes 6 Downloads 10 Views

Recommend Documents

No documents